• National Human Rights Commission of Mongolia received A status based on accreditation from ICC SCA for the 3rd time

The first ever hearing of the candidates for commissioners of NHRCM and NRM successfully organized

The hearing of the candidates for Commissioners of the NHRC of Mongolia and the Commissioner of National Preventive Mechanism (NPM) was organized online for two-days, from 10-11 June 2020. A working group for screening and evaluating the candidates for Commissioners of the NHRCM and NPM was established by the resolution of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Legal Affairs. The working group screened the application materials of total 24 applicants, of which 19 applicants were qualified to participate in the hearing.

The hearing was led by M. Unenbat, chairman of the working group and Senior Adviser to the Secretariat of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Legal Affairs, and the members included D. Zumberellkham, Standing Member of the Civil Service Council, O. Amgalanbaatar, Executive Secretary of the Judicial General Council of Mongolia, G. Bilguun, State Secretary of the Ministry of Justice and Home Affairs, B. Sanjmyatav, Legal Adviser to the Secretariat of the Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) caucus, S. Amarsaikhan, representative from the minority floor at the Parliament and adviser to Member of the Parliament, B. Ganbaatar, President of the Association of Mongolian Advocates, B. Khishigsaikhan, Legal Program Manager of the Open Society Forum NGO, and Dr. Munkhsaikhan, representative from the media and Professor at Law School of the National University of Mongolia.

On 10 June 2020, the candidates for Commissioners of the NHRCM, namely Kh. Munkhzul, G. Agar-Erdene, B. Enkhbold, Z. Unurjargal, B. Unurmaa, M. Gantulga, T. Ikhtamir, B. Battulga, B. Narmandah and S.Enkhtsetseg expressed their interests and goals for applying for Commissioner’s position and presented their educational background and work experiences. On the subsequent day, 11 June 2020, J. Khunan. G. Narantuya, D. Sunjid, S. Enkhbayar and Ts. Adiyakhishig also followed the same protocol as previous candidates for Commissioner of the NHRCM, while Sh. Tsogbaatar, P. Oyunchimeg and D. Tsend-Ayush expressed their interests as well as their relevant work experiences for applying for the position of Commissioner of the NPM.

In addition to the candidates’ brief presentation, the working group members as well as participants and observers mainly from the representatives of human rights NGOs attended the hearing through online asked questions from each candidate to further elaborate on their perspectives on human rights issues.

The Division of the Media and Public Communications of the Parliament of Mongolia informed that working group will have a meeting and select short-listed nominees for Commissioners of NHRCM and NPM and send its proposal to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Legal Affairs for its further decision.

According to the newly revised Law on the National Human Rights Commission of Mongolia, there will be five Commissioners for the NHRCM and one designated Commissioner for NPM.